changed to the Department of Customs and Excise. In April 1924 collection of income taxes was placed under the Minister of Customs and Excise and, under the Department of National Revenue Act, 1927, the Department became known as the Department of National Revenue.

The Customs and Excise Division of the Department is responsible for the assessment and collection of customs and excise duties as well as sales and excise taxes, by ports and outports. The Taxation Division is responsible for the assessment and collection of income taxes and estate taxes by 29 district offices throughout Canada.

The Minister of National Revenue is responsible to Parliament for the Tax Appeal Board and the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation.

Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources.—The Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources was established in December 1953, superseding the Department of Resources and Development. In addition to the Administration Branch, which includes common service functions, the Department is divided into four branches: the National Parks Branch, which administers the National Parks and National Historic Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites, and wildlife matters coming within the jurisdiction of the Federal Government; the Water Resources Branch, which is responsible for the investigation of water power resources, for the administration of federal assistance to the provinces under the Canada Water Conservation Assistance Act and for federal interest in certain joint federal-provincial construction projects; the Northern Administration Branch, which is responsible for the administration of various federal Acts, territorial ordinances and regulations pertaining to the government of the Northwest Territories, for the conduct of certain business arising from the general administration of the Yukon Territory, for the administration of natural resources in those Territories and for Eskimo affairs, as well as for certain other lands and mineral rights vested in the Crown in the right of Canada; and the National Museum of Canada, which is responsible for research, publication of scientific studies, and public exhibitions in the natural history and human history fields, as well as the National Aviation Museum and the Canadian War Museum.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission and the National Battlefields Commission. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, an honorary body of recognized historians representing the various provinces, and the Advisory Committee on Northern Development and Water Use Policy, act in an advisory capacity to the Minister in their respective fields. The Deputy Minister is Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and Chairman of the Northern Canada Power Commission.

Post Office Department.—Administration and operation of the Canada Post Office, by virtue of the Post Office Act (RSC 1952, c. 212) and under the Postmaster General, includes all phases of postal activity, personnel, mail handling, transportation of mails by land, water, rail and air and the direction and control of financial services including the operation of money order and savings bank business.

Privy Council Office.—For administrative purposes, the Privy Council Office is regarded as a Department of Government under the Prime Minister. The Clerk of the Privy Council, under whose direction its functions are carried out, is considered as a Deputy Head and takes precedence among the chief officers of the Public Service. The authority of the Privy Council Office is to be found in Sects. 11 and 130 of the British North America Act, 1867, which constituted a Council to aid and advise in the government of Canada to be styled the Queen's Privy Council for Canada. In 1940, upon the wartime development of cabinet committees and the consequent need for orderly secretarial procedures such as agenda, explanatory memoranda and minutes, the Principal Secretary in the Prime Minister's Office was designated Clerk of the Privy Council and first Secretary to the Cabinet. Since 1946, the Privy Council Office has been further re-organized, developed and enlarged and certain administrative functions of the Privy Council Office and the Prime Minister's Office closely integrated in the interests of efficiency and economy.

The organization of the Privy Council Office at present consists primarily of the Privy Council Section concerned with the examination of submissions to the Governor in Council, preparation of draft orders and regulations, circulation and filing of approved orders, administration of oaths of office and secrecy, and the duties of editing, registering and publication of federal statutory regulations in Part II of the *Canada Gazette*; the Cabinet Section dealing with secretarial work for the Cabinet and for Cabinet committees and interdepartmental committees, such as the preparation and circulation of agenda and necessary documents to Ministers and recording and circulating decisions, liaison with departments and agencies of government, and the preparation of material for the Prime Minister; and the Office of the Prime Minister organized as a Secretariat with officers responsible for general secretarial duties, the drafting of letters, the arrangement of appointments to interview the Prime Minister or for his public appearances or for the release of his statements on matters of public interest, and assisting the Prime Minister in his parliamentary duties.

Public Archives.—The Public Archives was founded in 1872 and is administered under the Public Archives Act (RSC 1952, c. 222) by the Dominion Archivist who has the rank of a Deputy Minister and reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State. Its purpose is to assemble and